Connect with us


Latest 9th National Assembly News For Monday, 17th June, 2019




'South East Gave Tinubu Meager Votes, Yet Want To Produce Senate President'
Good day Nigeria, welcome to Naija News roundup of 9th National Assembly news headlines for today Monday, 17th June 2019.

Below is a roundup of top 9th National Assembly stories.

1. 9th National Assembly Lawmakers To Get N19.89bn Allowances In 3 Months

Payment of overhead allowances to the newly inaugurated lawmakers of the 9th National Assembly in the first three months will increase their total allowances to N19.89bn, a report has revealed. Naija News learned that about 469 lawmakers of the 9th National Assembly will get N4.68bn as a welcome package to sort out accommodation and furniture issues.

2. National Assembly Will Pass Budget Within 3 Months – Lawan

Senator Ahmad Lawan, the President of the 9th Nigerian Senate, has assured Nigerians that the National Assembly will ensure the nation’s appropriation bill is passed within three months of its submission by the Executive arm of government. Naija News reports that Lawan gave the assurance when he fielded questions from State House correspondents after joining President Muhammadu Buhari to perform the weekly Friday’s Juma’at prayer at the Aso Rock Mosque in Abuja, Nigeria’s capital.

3. 9th Assembly: Lawmakers Jostle For Principal Offices

High level of politicking is in play over who emerges as the principal officers of the 9th National Assembly. Naija News reports that Ahmed Lawan and Ovie Omo-Agege emerged Senate President and Deputy respectively.

4. National Assembly: ADP Makes Demand From Ahmad Lawan And Femi Gbajabiamila

Following the emergence of Ahmed Lawan and Femi Gbajabiamila as the Senate President and Speaker of the 9th National Assembly, the Action Democratic Party has called on the duo to uphold the independence of the National Assembly. The party in a congratulatory message through its National Chairman, Yabagi Yusuf Sani lauded the maturity of all members of the National Assembly for the peaceful conduct of the election.

5. National Assembly: Abba Moro Replaces Senator David Mark After 20 Years

Senator David Mark has been replaced in the Benue South Senatorial constituency by Senator Abba Moro after representing the district for 20 uninterrupted years. Senator Mark who once served as the President of the Senate had occupied the seat of a senator since the return of democracy in 1999.

6. Ahmed Lawan Emerges 9th Assembly Senate President

Senator Ahmed Lawan has emerged winner of the 9th assembly Senate president, defeating his challenger, Ali Ndume. Naija News reports Lawan polled a total of 79 votes to emerge the winner.

7. Femi Gbajabiamila Emerges Speaker Of The House Representative

Mr. Femi Gbajabiamila has emerged winner of the 9th National Assembly speakership race. He secured 283 votes to defeat his only challenger, Umar Bago who garnered a paltry 76 votes.

That’s the 9th National Assembly news for today. Read more Nigerian news on Naija News. See you again tomorrow.

close button