Connect with us


Edo 2020: INEC Officially Declares Godwin Obaseki Winner



Edo 2020: INEC Officially Declares Godwin Obaseki Winner

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has officially declared Governor Godwin Obaseki the winner of the Edo governorship election.

Obaseki polled 307,955 votes to defeat the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu who polled 223,619.

He won in 13 Local Government Areas while Ize-Iyamu secured victory in only 5 LGAS out of the 18 in the state.

Out of 550,242 total votes cast across the state, Obaseki scored 307,955 while Ize-Iyamu scored 223,619 votes.

Others are AA- 107, ADC – 1,370. ADP – 2,374, APGA – 177, APM – 57, APP – 78, LP – 267, NNPP – 258, NRM – 573, SDP – 323, YPP – 132, and ZLP – 117.

Total valid votes are 537,407
Rejected votes: 12,835
Total votes cast: 550,242

Source: Naija News

Ogbolu George is a graduate of Mass Communication from the University of Benin. He loves politics, is a movie addict and a die-hard Arsenal fan. George is a Senior Content Creator at Naija News.