Connect with us


2023 LBA/NPFL Awards: Emeka Obioma Wins Player Of The Season, See Other Winners




Enyimba football club of Aba striker, Emeka Obioma has been named the best player of the season at the 2023 NPFL/League Bloggers awards earlier today, August 22.

The 24-year-old striker scored 14 goals and provided 2 assists in 17 NPFL games to help Enyimba qualify for the league’s playoffs.

During the playoffs, Emeka Obioma scored two more goals and provided an assist in three games as he helped Enyimba to win the 2022-2023 league title and qualify for this season’s CAF Champions League preliminary round.

2023 NPFL Awards: Emeka Obioma Wins Player Of The Season, See Other Winners

Emeka Obioma finish the 2022-2023 season as the NPFL top scorer.

Interestingly, while Emeka Obioma won the best player of the season award at the NPFL awards, his club’s coach Finidi George didn’t win the coach of the season. Instead, Remo Stars coach Daniel Ogumodede was named the coach of the season.

Coach Ogumodede led Remo Stars to the NPFL playoffs and qualified them for the CAF Champions League preliminary round for the first time in the club’s history.

Below are other winners of the LBA/NPFL Awards 2023

The 22-year-old Robert Christian Mizo of Bayelsa United won the 2023 NPFL Rookie of the Season.

Umar Bala of Plateau United won the Young Player of the Season.

Albert Korvah from Liberia who currently plays for Rivers United won the Best Foreign Player of the 2022-2023 NPFL season.

Emeka Obioma who won the player of the season also went home with the best striker of the season with 14 goals and two assists.

Remo Stars goalkeeper, Bankole Kayode, won the best goalkeeper of the season.

Lobi Stars midfielder Joseph Atule won the 2023 NPFL Midfielder of the Season.

Remo Stars defender Nduka Junior won the NPFL Defender of the Season.

Sterling Bankng PLC, the sponsor of Bendel Insurance of Edo, won the Best team sponsor of the Season.

Story continues below advertisement

Get New DJ Mixes

While the Edo state government won Best Government Sponsorship.