Connect with us



2023: Olusola-Eleka, Ekiti PDP Chieftains Gang Up Against Fayose


2023: Olusola-Eleka, Ekiti PDP Chieftains Gang Up Against Fayose

A former Ekiti Deputy Governor, Prof. Kolapo Olusola-Eleka and some chieftains of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the state have condemned former Governor Ayo Fayose over his leadership style.

The PDP chieftains under the aegis of Ekiti PDP Stakeholders said the current leadership style of one-man-show by the former Ekiti Governor is ineffective, totally primitive and utterly rejected.

In a communique issued on Sunday by the state PDP Spokesman, Raphael Adeyanju, the stakeholders demanded a new leadership style to move the party forward in the state that will unite members.

The chieftains also expressed concerns over the party’s dismal performance in the June 18 Ekiti governorship election, urging party members to go back to their units and wards to begin serious mobilisation for the party’s presidential candidate, Atiku Abubakar.

The communique reads, “There is an urgent need to rẹ-strengthen the party in order to win subsequent elections in the state.

“The current style of one-man-show leadership of Mr Ayo Fayose is ineffective, totally primitive, outdated, bizarre and utterly rejected.

“There is an urgent need for the party to fashion out a new leadership style that will engender unity among PDP members, and ensure victory for the party in subsequent elections. Henceforth the party in the state adopts a collegiate leadership style for the collective rescue mission of the party losses and liabilities.

“Also we urged members to continue to engage others still outside the party, with a view to securing their cooperation towards the success of the party’s presidential candidate, Atiku Abubakar, in the 2023 general elections.

They also resolved to meet the former governor, Segun Oni, in order to return to the party after defecting to the Social Democratic Party (SDP), over his dissatisfaction with the PDP governorship primary.

The stakeholders at the meeting held last week Thursday include former deputy governors, former party Chairmen, former National Working Committee members, former Local Government chairmen and former National and State lawmakers.