Connect with us


Breaking: Tribunal Upholds Governor Godwin Obaseki’s Election



Obaseki disqualified from APC governorship primary election

Edo State governor Godwin Obaseki’s victory in the state  gubernatorial elections held on September 28, 2016 has been upheld by an election petitions tribunal sitting in Benin

Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu, who was the flag bearer for the Peoples Democratic Party in the election had challenged Mr. Obaseki’s election, alleging widespread irregularities.

Mr. Obaseki, who ran on the platform of the All Progressives Congress, was declared the winner of the election by the Independent National Electoral Commission.

Several witnesses came before the tribunal and provided as exhibits the voters’ register in 16 local government areas of the state as well as the Forms EC8A, Form EC8B and EC8C, being results sheets for all the polling units, wards and local government areas of the state.

The head of the tribunal, Ahmed Badamosi, dismissed Mr. Ize-Iyamu’s petition.

Naija News learnt that there has been huge celebration amongst supporters of Mr. Obaseki and the APC shortly after the pronouncement.