Connect with us


Aggrieved Aspirants Petition APC, Demand Cancellation Of Ondo Gov Primary Election




Aggrieved Aspirants Petition APC, Demand Cancellation Of Ondo Gov Primary Election
L-R: Wale Akinterinwa, Olugebenga Edema and Jimi Odimayo

Three out of the sixteen candidates who participated in the Ondo State All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship primary election last week have lodged complaints with the party regarding the results, urging for the cancellation of the entire process.

The individuals who reportedly submitted their grievances to the party’s appeal committee include Wale Akinterinwa, Olugebenga Edema, and Jimi Odimayo.

Naija News understands that these appeals were made following the announcement by the election committee, headed by Kogi State Governor Usman Ododo, that Governor Lucky Aiyedatiwa emerged as the victor of the primary election with a total of 48,569 votes.

Several days after the declaration, the head of the five-member appeal committee and former governor of Bauchi State, Mohammed Abubakar, confirmed to journalists that the aggrieved aspirants had raised concerns with the party regarding the conduct of the election.


Channels Television quoted Abubakar as saying, “We have received three petitions from these three aspirants: Gbenga Edema, Jimi Odimayo, and Wale Akinterinwa.”

In his appeal, Akinterinwa said: “It is clear that the Committee did not distribute materials to any local government in Ondo State for the election.

“That the purported election should be cancelled and a new date should be picked and a new election conducted.


“That the Usman Ododo-committee has compromised itself because of not obeying its own rules and so should not be allowed to conduct the new election.”

On his part, Edema declared: “We have brought this to your notice that no election ever held in Ondo State APC. The committee is invited to order that a proper election be held without delay”.

Odimayo, the third appellant, has strongly advocated for the complete annulment of the APC primary election and the immediate dissolution of the seven-member committee.


He said: “Kindly note that our party is the cynosure of all eyes and it is expected of us to do what is right at all times.

“As part of the party’s guidelines, nobody is allowed to be a Returning Officer in his or her ward of origin.

“This provision of the guidelines was flagrantly abused by the people saddled with the responsibilities of conducting a credible, free, and fair primary election. The Returning Officers were assigned the election duties of their wards of origin. Such impunity would lead to a clash of interest.”

Responding to the development, Abubakar provided reassurance to the party members regarding the committee’s commitment to thoroughness and transparency in handling any received complaints.

Naija News understands that the committee comprises Obiocha Israel as the Secretary and Jamilu Gwamna, Patrick Obahiagbo, and Onyeka Okafor as its members.

“I can assure you that within a few days, we will consider the total number of petitions we receive and render a report to the national headquarters before the party takes a final decision on the issue.

“So, I am calling on all the aspirants who have complaint (s) to please feel free to forward them to us. We have since established our office at the party’s headquarters for collecting the appeals,” Abubakar noted.

A graphic designer turned into an immensely creative journalist committed to high-quality research and writing. A gospel music minister and Sportsman - Meet me on X - [@JoshuaOgunsile]