Connect with us


10th National Assembly: Kwara Rep Joins Race For Speakership




'It Is Shameful And Selfish' - Rep Members Reject Decision Of APC To Endorse Abbas, Kalu For House Leadership

The member representing Ekiti-Isin/ Irepodun/ Oke-ero federal constituency of Kwara State, Abdulraheem Olawuyi (APC-Kwara), has joined the race for the Speaker of the House of Representatives for the 10 National Assembly.

Naija News reports that the 10th National Assembly is billed for inauguration in June

In a statement released to newsmen on Saturday, Hon. Olawuyi noted that he would officially declare for the seat in Abuja on April 4.

Olawuyi, who is the chairman of the House Committee on Emergency and Disaster Preparedness, said he had consulted widely on his intention to contest the position and was impressed by the feedback.

The lawmaker, who is a ranking member in the House, won a third term in the 2023 National Assembly election.

He said he believed he had the needed experience to make the office of the Speaker better if elected.

10th NASS: Jigawa Rep, Abubakar Yalleman Joins Race For Speakership

Meanwhile, another member of the House of Representatives, representing Mallammadori/Kaugama Federal Constituency in Jigawa State, Abubakar Yalleman, had also joined the race.

The lawmaker declared his intention to join the race for Speaker in the 10th National Assembly last Wednesday in Abuja.

Yalleman, who is the Deputy Chairman of the House Committee on Defence argued that even though zoning of political offices was not clearly stated in the 1999 Constitution, it is in line with the principle of federal character.

While declaring his intention, he told pressmen that “I want to tell you that I will contest for the position of the Speaker of the 10th National Assembly, if the leadership of our party, the All Progressives Congress, zones it to the North-West geopolitical zone where I hail from.”

He explained that the National Assembly leadership zoning formula of the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC), which has maintained its majority status in the Senate and the House, will determine which positions the lawmakers would contest for.

Get New DJ Mixes

The Deputy Speaker of the House, Ahmed Idris Wase, the chairman, House Committee on Appropriations, Aliyu Muktar Betara and other candidates, have also indicated interest in the position.