Connect with us

Nigeria News

Olubadan Of Ibadan Possible Successor Revealed




Buhari, Tinubu Mourn Olubadan Of Ibadan

A former governorship candidate, Lekan Balogun, has been seen as the possible next in line to succeed the late Olubadan of Ibadan, Saliu Adetunji.

Naija News had earlier reported that Oba Adetunji died today at UCH Ibadan and would be buried today by 4pm.

In line with the hierarchy of leadership among chiefs in Ibadan, 80-year-old Lekan Balogun as the Otun Olubadan is expected to be crowned the new king.

Balogun after his primary education, although he was a student of CAC Modern School Anlugbaa, had personal study at home to write a qualifying test that enabled him to travel to the UK.

It was gathered that Balogun after passing the test did not complete his education at the CAC Modern School.

Balogun while in UK sat for and passed the O-Level and A-Level exams that made him gain admission into Brunel University.

He left the university in 1973 with a Masters degree in Administration and Economics.

Balogun with his post-graduate worked with Lambeth Local Government Social Services Department for 18 months.

He also enrolled for the Ph.D.

The former governorship candidate in 1973 returned to Nigeria and took up an appointment with Ahmadu Bello University (ABU), Zaria at the Centre for Social and Economic Research.

He later took up an appointment with Shell British Petroleum Company where he retired as the Head of Recruitment.

Lekan Balogun joined politics in 1978, when he served as general secretary for Aminu Kano’s Peoples Redemption Party between 1978 and 1980.

He was also the party’s deputy national secretary between 1980- 1982.

He was governorship aspirant of the PDP in 2003, but lost the ticket to Rasheed Ladoja, who went on to beat AD’s incumbent, Lam Adesina.

Balogun was a presidential aspirant on the platform of SDP in the early 1990s. MKO Abiola won the contest.

He was elected Senator of the Federal Republic of Nigeria in the Fourth Republic in 1999 and held the office till 2003.

Below is the Ibadan succession hierarchy

1) Lekan Balogun: Otun Olubadan.

2) Owolabi Olakulehin: Balogun Olubada‎n

3) ‎Rashidi Ladoja: Osi Olubadan.

4). Olufemi Olaifa: Otun Balogun.

5) ‎Eddy Oyewole: Ashipa Olubadan.

6) Tajudeen Ajibola: Osi Balogun.

7) Amidu Ajibade:Ekaarun Olubadan.

8) Lateef Gbadamosi: Ashipa Balogun Olubadan.

9) Kola Adegbola: Ekarun Balogun‎.

10) Abiodun Kola-Daisi: Ekerin Olubadan‎.

close button