Connect with us


PDP Swears In Iyorchia Ayu As New National Chairman



PDP Swears In Iyorchia Ayu As New National Chairman

Nigeria’s major opposition party, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), has sworn in Dr. Iyorchia Ayu as the party’s new National Chairman.

Ayu and other members of the new National Working Committee of the PDP were was sworn in on Friday in Abuja at the International Conference Center.

The new PDP leaders were also presented certificates of return, Naija News reports.

In his acceptance speech, Ayu vowed that his leadership would reposition the party and work towards reclaiming power at the central level in 2023.

He said, “Our task at this auspicious moment is to return the party to the people. But to do that, the party needs to be reinvigorated, reinvented and repositioned. We are not unmindful of our missed steps and actions in the past, but we have learnt our lessons, both in government and in opposition.

“Today, we stand tall, and with a firm resolve to rebuild our great party and rescue our nation.“

It will be recalled that at its National Convention on 30th/31st October 2020 at the Eagle Square in Abuja, the PDP elected a former Senate President, Iyorchia Ayu, as its National Chairman and a former Deputy Governor of Oyo State, Taofeek Arapaja, as Deputy National Chairman (South).

Below are the full names and positions of new national officers who emerged at the convention and were sworn in on Friday.

Dr Iyorchia Ayu – National Chairman

Taofeek Arapaja – Deputy National Chairman (South)

Umar Damagum – Deputy National Chairman (North)

Senator Samuel Anyanwu – National Secretary

Hon. Ahmed Yayari Mohammed – National Treasurer

Hon. Umaru Bature, Sokoto – National Organising Secretary

Daniel Woyengikuro – National Financial Secretary

Prof. Stella Effa-Attoe – National Women’s Leader

Muhammed Suleiman – Youth Leader

Kamaldeen Adeyemi Ajibade – National Legal Adviser

Hon. Debo Ologunagba – National Publicity Secretary

Okechukwu Obiechina Daniel – National Auditor

Arch. Setoji Kosheodo – Deputy National Secretary

Ndubuisi Eneh David – Deputy National Treasurer

Alhaji Ibrahim Abdullahi – Deputy National Publicity Secretary

Sen. Ighoyota Amori – Deputy National Organising Secretary

Hon. Adamu D.U Kamale – Deputy National Financial Secretary

Hajara Yakubu Wanka – Deputy National Women’s Leader

Timothy Osadolor – Deputy National Youth Leader

Barrister Okechukwu Osuoha – Deputy National Legal Adviser

Hon. Abdulrahman Mohammed – Deputy National Auditor.

Download NAIJA NEWS app:
Download Naija News App for Android