Connect with us


Ex-Senate President Ayu Emerges Chairman As PDP Elects New NWC [Full List]


PDP Fixes New Date For Inauguration Of New NWC

The opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has elected a new set of National Working Committee (NWC) members ahead of the 2023 general elections.

Naija News reports that the new PDP NWC, headed by the party’s chairman will oversee the day-to-day running of the party and ensure that the PDP reclaim the 2023 Presidency.

At its National Convention on Saturday at the Eagle Square in Abuja, the PDP elected a former Senate President, Iyorchia Ayu, as its National Chairman and a former Deputy Governor of Oyo State, Taofeek Arapaja, as Deputy National Chairman (South).

Ayu, who was earlier adopted as the consensus candidate for the position, won the election unchallenged with 3,426 votes, while Arapaja polled 2,004 votes to defeat a former governor of Osun State, Olagunsoye Oyinlola, who scored 705 votes.

The former governorship candidate of Yobe state, Umar Damagum, was elected as the Deputy National Chairman (North). He polled 2,222 votes to beat former Minister of Women Affairs, Inna Ciroma, who garnered 365 votes.

Muhammed Suleiman from Kaduna scored 3,072 votes to defeat Usman Elkudan, also from Kaduna, who polled 219 for the position of Youth Leader.

The candidates were declared duly elected by the Chairman of the Electoral Sub-Committee and Chief Returning Officer of the election, Governor Ahmadu Fintiri of Adamawa State.

Fintiri stated that only three out of the 21 NWC positions were contested, while consensus candidates were adopted for the remaining positions.

He disclosed that the 18 candidates that emerged through consensus polled 3426 votes each.

Names of NWC members elected are listed below:

Dr Iyorchia Ayu – National Chairman

Taofeek Arapaja – Deputy National Chairman (South)

Umar Damagum – Deputy National Chairman (North)

Senator Samuel Anyanwu – National Secretary

Hon. Ahmed Yayari Mohammed – National Treasurer

Hon. Umaru Bature, Sokoto – National Organising Secretary

Daniel Woyengikuro – National Financial Secretary

Prof. Stella Effa-Attoe – National Women’s Leader

Muhammed Suleiman – Youth Leader

Kamaldeen Adeyemi Ajibade – National Legal Adviser

Hon. Debo Ologunagba – National Publicity Secretary

Okechukwu Obiechina Daniel – National Auditor

Arch. Setoji Kosheodo – Deputy National Secretary

Ndubuisi Eneh David – Deputy National Treasurer

Alhaji Ibrahim Abdullahi – Deputy National Publicity Secretary

Sen. Ighoyota Amori – Deputy National Organising Secretary

Hon. Adamu D.U Kamale – Deputy National Financial Secretary

Hajara Yakubu Wanka – Deputy National Women’s Leader

Timothy Osadolor – Deputy National Youth Leader

Barrister Okechukwu Osuoha – Deputy National Legal Adviser

Get New DJ Mixes

Hon. Abdulrahman Mohammed – Deputy National Auditor.