Connect with us


Edo 2020: Tambuwal Warns INEC, Buhari Ahead Gov’ship Election




Governor Aminu Tambuwal has warned the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) not to allow itself to be used by any force in the Edo governorship election.

Tambuwal, who is the Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party Governors’ Forum, made this known on Saturday at the official launch of the governorship campaign train of the Governor Godwin Obaseki.

The Sokoto governor urged INEC to conduct a free, fair and credible election devoid of malpractices.

Tambuwal said, “I want to call on the INEC Chairman, Prof Mahmud Yakubu, to take a cue from the elections conducted by the former INEC Chairman, Prof Atahiru Jega, where the doctrine of one man, one vote was adhered to strictly in all elections.

“Do not allow anybody to use you to achieve their political aim and ambition.”

Tambuwal also called on President Muhammadu Buhari to deliver a free and fair election to Nigerians and the people of Edo.

He noted that Edo State is a strategic and important state in the history of Nigeria,” he told the President.

“No one man can come to Edo and claim superiority over others, we will ensure that those who want to rig this election do not succeed.

“We gave Governor Godwin Obaseki some lessons on how to demobilise godfathers because we knew that a day like this will come.

“I urge you all to continue to hold on to God Almighty because God never fails. That was what we did in Sokoto and we won the state,” he added.

Naija News reports that the launch of the Governor’s campaign was held at the lawn tennis court of the refurbished Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium.

The event was attended by the PDP national chairman, Prince Uche Secondus who presented the flag to Governor Obaseki.

Governor Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta State; Bayelsa Governor, Senator Duoye Diri and his Oyo State counterpart, Seyi Makinde all attended the event.

Others were Rivers State governor, Nyesom Wike; Bauchi State governor, Bala Mohammed; Senator Dino Melaye; Ondo State deputy governor, Agboola Ajayi; Senate Minority Whip, Enyinnaya Abaribe and a host of others.

close button