Connect with us


Okorocha swears in sister, 27 others as commissioners



-Okorocha inaugurates sister as Commissioner for happiness and couple’s fulfilment.

-Prove your worth in the service of the state – Okorocha advises commissioners

Okorocha swears in sister as happiness Commissioner, along with others

Imo State Governor, Rochas Okorocha has inaugurated 28 new commissioners and 27 Transition Committee Chairmen for the 27 local government councils in the state.

Among the 28 commissioners sworn in by Okorocha is the governor’s biological sister, Mrs. Ogechi Ololo (nee Okorocha). She was sworn in as the state’s Commissioner for Happiness and Couples’ Fulfillment.

Mrs. Ololo, who is married to an engineer, Chuks, was the All Progressives Congress’ candidate into the House of Representatives for the Owerri Federal Constituency position in 2015 and she has worked in several capacities since Governor Okorocha assumed office in 2011.

Prior to her new appointment, Okolo served as her brother’s Deputy Chief of Staff and Special Adviser on Domestic Matters.

During the swearing in of the new commissioners and the Transition Committee Chairmen on Monday, Okorocha urged the public officers to work diligently and be ambassadors, while enjoining them to prove their worth in the service of the state.

According to the Governor “You are the privileged group that has the opportunity to make names for yourselves. I want to remind all of you that this appointment is not business as usual. We shall not tolerate any sharp practice or corruption of any type. Neither shall we accept indolence or laziness. You have been called to duty to help us to achieve our vision in the Rescue Mission Project.

“At this moment, I charge you all to be good ambassadors of the Rescue Mission wherever you find yourselves. To the Transition Committee Chairmen, you must ensure that ongoing projects must be completed especially the schools, chapels etc.”

He emphasised that his administration’s achievements far surpasses those of past administrations in the state, both civilian and military put together.

The commissioners sworn in and their portfolios are: Prof. Nnamdi Obiaraeri (Information); Lady Ugochi Nnana-Okoro (Agric and Food Security); Gertrude Oduka (Primary and Secondary Education); Dr. Jones Uzoka (Niger Delta Affairs); Uchendu Mark (Public Utilities); and  Gerald Okolie (Rural Development).

Others include: Dr. Cyril Okafor (Tourism); Emmanuel Ojinere (Trade and Investment); Chief Lasbery Anyanwu (Transport); Onwueyiagwu Valentine (Youth Development); Mrs. Ngozi Njoku (Gender and Social Development); Chief Josephine Udoji (Works); Achilike Nwawuike (Internal Resources and Pension Matters); Prof. Emenalo Chizoba (Tertiary Education); Nwamerenini Chukwuka (Labour); and Dr. Iyke Njoku (Planning, Budget and Statistics).

The Transition Committee Chairmen sworn in include Okechukwu Onyechere(Ideato South); Sir Anyehe Okeneme (Ikeduru); Julius Onyeneho (Isiala Mbano); Akas Paschal, (Isu); Steve Odoemena (Mbaitoli); Eke Chidi (Ngor Okpala); Aloysius Onwuegbuchulam (Njaba); and Paschal Onwukaike (Nkwerre).

Ibukun Josephine Bankole was a Senior Associate at Naija News. A Mass Communication graduate, Ibukun is passionate about journalism especially in the areas of health and child related issues. She loves eating beans, singing, acting and giving motivational speeches. Ibukun is meticulous and has a positive approach to life. Contact me via twitter/Instagram @ibukunbankole_