Connect with us

2023 Election

APC Wins Majority Seat In Cross River State House Of Assembly




The next Cross River House of Assembly will be dominated by the All Progressives Congress (APC), which won 19 of the 25 seats up for grabs in the recently concluded election.

Naija News recalls that the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) also declared the APC governorship candidate, Senator Bassey Otu the winner of the state’s governorship election. He received 258,619 votes to defeat Senator Sandy Onor of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) who received 179,636 votes.

Following that, INEC’s Chief of Voter Education and Publicity, Ms. Tonia Nwobi, announced in Calabar, the state’s capital, on Wednesday that APC won the majority seats in the state house of assembly.

The PDP won five seats and the Labour Party had one. While seven of the eight seats in the Central district, three in Cross River North, and all nine seats in the Southern senatorial district were won by the APC.

The PDP received four seats in Cross River North and one in the Central district, compared to the LP’s one seat in the Northern senatorial district.

According to the results, the APC prevailed in the state elections for Abi, Akamkpa I and II, Akpabuyo, Bakassi, Biase, Boki I and II, Calabar Municipality, and Calabar South I and II.

The APC also won the constituencies of Etung, Ikom II, Obubra I and II, Obudu, Odukpani, and Yakurr I and II.

Get New DJ Mixes

While the LP prevailed in Yala I, the PDP won seats in the state constituencies of Ikom I, Ogoja, Yala II, Obanliku, and Bekwarra.