Connect with us

2023 Election

#NigeriaDecides: Final Results For Taraba Gov’ship Polls Emerges




The final results from Taraba State for last Saturday’s governorship and state assembly elections have emerged.

Naija News gathered that 663,998 voters were accredited to vote during the election out of total registered voters of 2,022,374, in the state as stated by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

However, of this 663,998, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) governorship candidate, Kefas Agbu who was declared winner of the polls, scored 257,926 votes to emerge victorious while his counterpart in the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP), Muhammad Yahaya, got 202,277 to retain the second position and the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate, Emmanuel Bwacha, got 142,502 votes to emerge third.

It was also gathered that there were 9,120 rejected votes.

Below is a breakdown of the results:

Registered voters: 2,022,374
Accredited voters: 663,998

APC – 142,502
NNPP – 202,277
PDP – 257,926

Valid Votes: 651,371
Rejected Votes: 9,120
Total Votes Cast: 660,491

Earlier on Tuesday morning, the state Returning Officer, Prof M.A. Abdulaziz, declared Agbu the winner after fulfilling the requirements to be named the governor-elect.

Get New DJ Mixes

Abdulazeez called on all contestants to “forgive each other” adding, “We are doing this to ensure that democracy has gone a long way in Nigeria.”