Connect with us


PDP Releases Names Of Cleared Candidates For S/West Congress [Full List]




Supreme Court Has Failed Nigerians - PDP Reacts As Tinubu Floors Atiku In Court

The Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) on Sunday released the list of candidates cleared by its screening committee for the South-West Zonal Congress.

Naija News reports that the congress which is expected to produce the party’s executive in the region would hold on April 12, 2021.

A document, signed by the National Organisation Secretary of the party, Col. Austin Akobundu , and obtained by PUNCH, indicated that a former deputy governor of Oyo State, Taofeek Arapaja, and the immediate zonal chairman of the party, Dr. Eddy Olafeso, would contest the chairmanship position.

Chief Rahman Owokoniran and Jenyo Bunmi were also cleared to contest the position of the zonal secretary.


Others are, Ogunye Omotoyosi and Oke Michael (Treasurer); Amuwa Adegbenro and Bakenne Adewale (Zonal Organising Secretary); and Olusanya Adefarati and Fadaka Ayodele (Zonal Publicity Secretary).

The party also cleared Messrs Adewoyin Babatunde and Aivoji Olabode for the position of zonal financial secretary while Messrs Babatunde Samuel and Monsuru Kukoyi would contest the position of the zonal legal adviser.

Three members, Messrs Dominic Adegbola, Balogun Ayuba and Adeola Adewunmi were cleared to contest the zonal auditor’s position while Modinat Adedibu and Abimbola Lanre-Balogun would contest as the zonal women leader.


The PDP cleared Bamidele Abiola and Adetola Femi to contest the zonal youth leader’s position.

The party also cleared two ex-officio members from each of the six states in the South-West zone.

George Oshogwe Ogbolu is a Digital Media Strategist | Content Writer | Journalist | New Media Influencer | Proofreader and Editor at Naija News.