Connect with us


Nigeria Now Has 20 Supreme Court Justices As CJN Swears-In 8 New Justices (Full List)



David Lyon's Sack: See Official Summary Of Supreme Court Ruling On Bayelsa Election (Photos)

Nigeria now has a total of 20 Supreme Court Justices after the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Tanko Muhammad on Friday, swore in 8 new Supreme Court Justices.

The eight new justices of the Supreme Court took their oath of office and oath of allegiance to the Nigerian Constitution at their swearing-in ceremony presided over by the CJN on Friday.

After their swearing-in, the eight new judges ascended to the bench where their 12 seniors were already seated.

Below is the full list of the newly inaugurated Supreme Court Justices.

Justices Lawal Garba (North West), Helen Ogunwumiju (South West), Abdu Aboki (North West), and M. M. Saulawa (North West), Adamu Jauro (North East), Samuel Oseji (South South), Tijani Abubakar (North East) and Emmanuel Agim (South South).

Naija News reports the Nigerian Senate had earlier approved and confirmed the appointment of the eight (8) new justices as justices of the Supreme Court.

This comes after President Muhammadu Buhari forwarded their names to the National Assembly for consideration and approval in a letter to the Senate President, Dr. Ahmad Lawan where he asked the Senate to approve the appointment of the eight justices upon the advice of the National Judicial Council according to their ranking and seniority in the Court of Appeal.

Source: Naija News

Content provider, creative writer, inspired by the opportunity to learn new things. You can reach out to me via [email protected]