See The Local Governments Under Emir Sanusi's Control | Naija News
Connect with us



See The Local Governments Under Emir Sanusi’s Control



Just In: Nasarawa Govt Relocates Sacked Emir Sanusi

Emir of Kano state, Muhammadu Sanusi II, now has control of only 10 out of 44 local government areas (LGAs) in the state.

This is just as the Kano State Public Complaints and Anti-Corruption Commission had alleged the misappropriation of N6 billion by the Kano emirate council “without the approval of the state government”.

The probe against the Emir was halted in 2017 and has now been revived; a development that has made the commission to further investigate the emirate under him.

Naija News reports that a former official of the Kano emirate council, Isa Bayero, had been in the same vein directed to appear before the commission on Thursday to shed light on the payment vouchers from 2013 to 2017.

Naija News recalls that the Kano state House of Assembly had passed a bill breaking up the emirates in the state; and the governor of the state, Abdullahi Ganduje, passed the bill into law a few hours later.

This is coming in about two days after Naija News had reported that Ganduje was plotting to unseat Sanusi or whittle down his authority in the state.

With the new development in the state, the state now has five emirates: Kano, Rano, Gaya, Karaye and Bichi with five emirs of equal jurisdiction to equate the number of Emirates in the state.

Kano emirate headed by Sanusi has 10 local governments that are; Kano Municipal, Tarauni, Dala, Nassarawa, Fagge, Gwale, Kumbotso, Ungogo, Dawakin Kudu and Minjibir, against the original 44 local governments that the Emir had jurisdiction over in the state.

Kano and Rano emirates will control 10 local governments each while Gaya, Karaye and Bichi will control eight, seven and nine local government areas respectively.

Among the new division, Rano emirate will control Rano, Bunkure, Kibiya, Takai, Sumaila, Kura, Doguwa, Tudun Wada, Kiru, Bebeji.

Gaya emirate has Gaya, Ajingi, Albasu, Wudil, Garko, Warawa, Gezawa, Gabasawa LGAs.

Karaye, Rogo, Gwarzo, Kabo Rimin Gado, Madobi, Garun Malam LGAs will be under the Karaye emirate.

Bichi emirate will control Bichi, Bagwai, Shanono, Tsanyawa, Kunchi, Makoda, Danbatta, Dawakin Tofa, Tofa local governments.

Source: Naija News