Connect with us


INEC Declares PDP’s Bamidele Salam As Winner Of Ede Federal Constituency In Osun




The Independent National Electoral Commission has declared the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Bamidele Salam, as the winner of Ede Federal Constituency of the House of Representatives seat.

The breakdown of the results according to the returning officer on Sunday at Oja Timi collation headquarters are:

EDE North LG PDP =13,533 APC = 11,698

EDE South PDP = 12,328 APC = 8,161

EGBEDORE LG PDP = 9,104 APC  =  8,492

EJIGBO LG PDP = 12039 APC = 16,515.

INEC said the Action Democratic Party, ADP, more than 6000 Votes. The APC won in only 1 ward out of the 21 wards only in EDE. PDP defeated APC with 2128 votes.

It was said that there was cancellation of votes in two polling units due to over voting, in line with INEC guidelines. Mr Bamidele Salam was therefore declared as the winner and returned elected having polled majority lawful votes. While the representatives of PDP, ADP, and other agents endorsed the results,  the APC agent, refused to sign the results.

Mr Salam is a former staff of the Osun State Broadcasting Corporations (OSBC) and a media aide to former Governor Olagunsoye Oyinlola. He also served as the Chairman of Egbedore Local Government of Osun state.

Source: Naija News

A Passionate Media professional who has a penchant for creative writing. he loves watching Movies, Playing Games and sightseeing.