Connect with us


#Flooding: NEMA Declares Four States National Disaster



Flooding in four states, namely; Kogi, Niger, Delta and Anambra have been declared as national disaster by the National Emergency Management Agency (NEMA).

The agency also placed eight other states on its watch list, Mustapha Maihaja, NEMA’s director general has said.

Kogi state governor, Yahya Bello, while addressing newsmen today, said 33 camps have been opened for internally displaced persons (IDPs) as the state is the worst hit.

“In 2012, we were worst hit, we are praying that the situation will not exceed that this year. We are normally proactive to sensitize the people and evacuate them to high ground,” he said.

We have created over 33 camps in Kogi State. As I speak with you, between nine to ten local governments are underwater, you can imagine the pressure on our resources.

“So, we are doing our best in collaboration with federal agencies and security agencies to make sure that we evacuate them to high grounds, IDP camps and provide security to them and relief materials including medicals.”

Source: Naija News

is a prolific writer, broadcaster and teacher, who likes to try out new things