Connect with us

Nigeria News

Six Biggest Political Losers In 2022




Amaechi Rotimi and Gboyega Oyetola

The Nigerian political space has witnessed lots of intrigues and defections including keenly contested party’s primary election with winners and losers emerging.

In this article, Naija News highlights some losers from the Nigerian political scene in the year 2022.

1.  Rotimi Amaechi: The former minister of transportation, Rotimi Amaechi was one of the star ministers of the Buhari administration as he spearheaded the government’s rail projects across the country.

He declared his presidential ambition and secured the N100 million nomination form. Sadly, Buhari directed ministers seeking elective positions to resign and Amaechi did not consider a rethink to resignation but preferred to forfeit his ministerial seat for the presidential ticket.

Amaechi’s decision cost him the Ministerial seat and he still lost the party’s presidential ticket.

The former minister who used to be very active has gone silent since losing the primaries.

2023: After Losing APC Presidential Ticket, Amaechi Tells Supporters Who To Vote For

Rotimi Amaechi

2. Rochas Okorocha: In 2015 Rochas Okorocha seriously campaigned for Buhari claiming that power would shift to the east after the president’s tenure.

Despite being Imo State governor for two consecutive terms and currently a serving senator, Okorocha could not secure any vote from the delegates at the APC presidential primaries as he scored zero votes.

Rochas Okorocha Officially Joins 2023 Presidential Race

Rochas Okorocha

3. Gboyega Oyetola: The Osun State gubernatorial election is one defeat that the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) did not see coming.

Despite being an incumbent governor, Gboyega Oyetola lost the 2022 governorship election to Ademola Adeleke of PDP.

Oyetola Speaks On Taking Bank Loans, Leaving N407bn Debt

Gboyega Oyetola

4. Dele Momodu: The Nigerian publisher has been yearning to become President of Nigeria since 2011 on the platform of the Labour Party and National Conscience Party.

He also contested in 2022 on the platform of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) but scored zero votes in the presidential primary.

Tinubu’s Running Mate, Shettima Suffering From Amnesia - PDP

The CEO Ovation Magazine, Dele Momodu

5. Tunde Bakare: The popular Nigerian clergyman claimed that God had assured him, he would assume the office of the presidency after Buhari but he failed to secure the APC presidential ticket.

Bakare who is the General overseer of the Citadel Global Church in Lagos secured zero votes at the party’s presidential primary election.

APC Primary: Watch Video Of How Supporters Welcomed Pastor Tunde Bakare Back At The Airport

Pastor Tunde Bakare

6. Ahmad Lawan: The Senate president contested the APC presidential primary but lost to Tinubu.

Subsequently, his hope of returning to the Senate was dashed as he lost the ticket to Bashir Machina after months of political battle.

They Must Have Had Inside Help, The Seat Of Power Is No Longer Safe - Ahmad Lawan Speaks On Kuje Prison Attack

Get New DJ Mixes

Ahmad Lawan

close button