Connect with us


Full List Of FIFA World Cup Golden Ball Winners




Full List Of FIFA World Cup Golden Ball Winners

Argentina captain, Lionel Messi has won the World Cup Golden Ball for the second time, following his exhilarating and mesmerizing performance in Qatar.

Naija News report that the World Cup Golden Ball is the award given to the best player at a particular World Cup tournament. Messi became the first player ever to win two Adidas Golden Balls.

As well as a Golden Ball, FIFA awards the Silver Ball to the player deemed second best and a Bronze Ball to the third-best player.

The World Cup Golden Ball award has officially been handed out since the 1982 World Cup in Spain, with Italy legend Paolo Rossi winning it on that occasion.

Get New DJ Mixes

Since then it has been won by some of the best players in football history, including Diego Maradona (1986), Ronaldo (1998), Zinedine Zidane (2006), and Lionel Messi (2014 & 2022).

World Cup Golden Ball winners list

World Cup Golden Ball Silver Ball Bronze Ball
2022 Lionel Messi (Argentina) Kylian Mbappe (France) Luka Modric (Croatia)
2018 Luka Modric (Croatia) Eden Hazard (Belgium) Antoine Griezmann (France
2014 Lionel Messi (Argentina) Thomas Muller (Germany) Arjen Robben (Netherlands)
2010 Diego Forlan (Uruguay) Wesley Sneijder (Netherlands) David Villa (Spain)
2006 Zinedine Zidane (France) Fabio Cannavaro (Italy) Andrea Pirlo (Italy)
2002 Oliver Kahn (Germany) Ronaldo (Brazil) Hong Myung-bo (South Korea)
1998 Ronaldo (Brazil) Davor Suker (Croatia) Lilian Thuram (France)
1994 Romario (Brazil) Roberto Baggio (Italy) Hristo Stoichkov (Bulgaria)
1990 Salvatore Schillaci (Italy) Lothar Matthaus (West Germany) Diego Maradona (Argentina)
1986 Diego Maradona (Argentina) Harald Schumacher (West Germany) Preben Elkjaer (Denmark)
1982 Paolo Rossi (Italy) Falcao (Brazil) Karl-Heinz Rummenigge