Connect with us


Osinbajo, Bakare, Amaechi, 19 Other APC Presidential Aspirants To Meet In Abuja Tomorrow




Bola Tinubu

Nigeria’s Vice President Yemi Osinbajo and twenty-one others that contested for the All Progressives Congress (APC) 2023 presidential ticket would be meeting on Wednesday, August 31 in Abuja.

Naija News learnt that the meeting was organized so that the party chieftains can join heads and come up with viable strategies to ensure the victory of APC presidential candidate, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, in the coming election.

Recall that the party big wigs numbering over twenty had battled through to become the flag-bearer for the 2023 presidential election, but nine withdrew shortly before the commencement of voting at the APC 2023 national convention.

Most of them had since declared their support to Tinubu who polled 1,271 votes to emerge victorious at the end of the convention held in Abuja.

In a statement made available to newsmen in Abuja on Tuesday, one of the presidential aspirants, Dr. Nicolas Felix, said tomorrow’s meeting is scheduled to hold by 2:00 p.m. at Transcorp Hilton.

He said, “The choice of Abuja wasn’t a mistake. I called the meeting for us to address the challenges bedevilling our country and inclusive politics.

“We will also brainstorm on adopting winning campaign strategies to support our flagbearer, Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu that seeks to carry every Nigerian along in our bid to coast home to victory in the 2023 general elections.”

Naija News reports that those expected at the meeting include VP Osinbajo; former Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi; former Science and Technology Minister, Ogbonnaya Onu; former Minister of State for Education, Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba; and former Minister of Niger Delta Affairs, Godswill Akpabio.

Also expected are: Senate President Ahmad Lawan; former Governor of Ogun State, Senator Ibikunle Amosun; a serving senator, Ajayi Boroffice; former Zamfara governor, Ahmad Sani; former Imo State governor and serving senator, Rochas Okorocha; a former Senate President, Ken Nnamani, a former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Dimeji Bankole; fiery cleric, Tunde Bakare; Pastor and Businessman, former Information Minister, Ikeobasi Mokelu; Businessman, Tein Jack-Rich and Uju Ken-Ohanenye.

Get New DJ Mixes

Five APC governors are also expected at the meeting: Yahaya Bello of Kogi, Dave Umahi of Ebonyi, Abubakar Badaru of Jigawa, Ben Ayade of Cross River and Kayode Fayemi of Ekiti State.

close button