Connect with us


Obaseki Forwards List Of Eleven Commissioner-nominees To Edo Assembly



Obaseki Forwards List Of Eleven Commissioner-nominees To Edo Assembly

Governor Godwin Obaseki of Edo State has forwarded the names of eleven commissioner-nominees to the State House of Assembly for confirmation.

In a statement on Tuesday by the Secretary to the State Government, Osarodion Ogie, the governor has also appointed two Special Advisers into his cabinet.

Ogie said that the commissioner-nominees whose names have been forwarded to the state Assembly include: Oluwole Osamudiamen Iyamu, SAN; Prof. (Mrs.) Obehi Akoria; Dr. Joan Osa Oviawe; Osaze Ethan Uzamere and Monday Osaigbovo.

Others are: Marie Edeko Esq.; Joseph Eboigbe; Moses Agbukor; Isoken Omo; Andrew Emwanta and Mrs. Otse Momoh-Omorogbe.

He added that the two Special Advisers appointed are Crusoe Osagie, who has been appointed as Special Adviser, Media Projects and Sarah Ajose-Adeogun, who is Special Adviser, Strategy, Policy, Projects and Performance Management.

In other news, the House of Representatives has assigned seven members to work with the upper chamber of the National Assembly on the Electoral Act amendment bill.

The seven rep members will work with their colleagues from the Senate to harmonize the Electoral Act amendment bill.

The rep members as announced during plenary on Tuesday are: Akeem Adeyemi, James Abiodun Faleke (APC, Lagos); Aisha Dukku (APC, Gombe); Blessing Onuh (APC, Benue); Nyima Idem (PDP, Akwa Ibom); Chris Azubogu (PDP, Anambra) and Abdullahi Kalambaina (APC, Sokoto).

The delegation is headed by Akeem Adeyemi but no timeline was made known for their activities.

The legislators from the two chambers will work on the bill to harmonize the details, provide a clean copy and get it ready for Presidential assent.

Ige Olugbenga is a fine-grained journalist. He loves the smell of a good lead and has a penchant for finding out something nobody else knows. Gbenga is an alumnus of the prestigious Adekunle Ajasin University, Ondo State and The Polytechnic, Ibadan.