Connect with us



Oyo: Makinde Swears-In Seven Commissioners




The Governor of Oyo State, Seyi Makinde, has sworn in seven commissioners in the state.

The swear-in ceremony, Naija News understands was held in the Governor’s office in Ibadan, the state capital, on Friday, August 6.

Speaking at the event, Governor Makinde, who had a few days ago, forwarded the names of the commissioner-nominees to the State House of Assembly, charged the reappointed commissioners to be committed to the service and deliver on the mandate for which they were appointed.

Assigning the commissioners their various portfolios, Makinde assured that the names of the remaining commissioners would soon be made public.

Naija News understands that the six of the reappointed commissioners retained their former portfolios, while the immediate past Commissioner for Women Affairs, Alhaja Faosat Ajoke Sanni, was deployed to the Ministry of Special Duties.

The commissioners include: Mr. Akinola Ojo (Finance); Prof. Oyelowo Oyewo, SAN (Justice); Chief Bayo Lawal (Local Government and Chieftaincy Matters) and Prof. Dahud Sangodoyin (Public Works).

Others are: Mr. Ayansiju Lawal (Establishment and Training); Mr. Temilolu Ashamu (Energy and Mineral Resources) and Mrs. Faosat Sanni (Special Duties).

Governor Makinde again urged them to do all they can to make the state a better place within the next two years.

He said: “Well, as they say, ‘you don’t change a winning team.’ Yes, that is true. But they didn’t say that we should not reassess our team.

“In fact, regular assessment and reassessment are important to keep teams working optimally. So, to all seven of you here today, I will say welcome back.

“I hope you have used the time to get enough rest and you are fully reinvigorated now for the task ahead.

“You have just under two years left to make even greater marks in your various Ministries,” Makinde reiterated.

A content writer, journalist, graphic designer, and Gospel Music Minister. Playing football is Richard's main hobby.