Connect with us


Okowa Receives “Governor Of The Year Award “




Governor Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta state yesterday received that award “Governor of The Year, 2018” for his strong delivery of democratic dividends and aim to make Nigeria’s democracy better.

While receiving the award, named “Independent Newspaper Award” at the event held at Eko Hotels and Suites, Lagos, Okowa said his success story was built by years of learning the act of governance and strong partnership with the people of Delta State in delivering democratic dividends.

Recall that the governor had once served as Secretary to local government council, Chairman of local government council, Commissioner for Agriculture, Commissioner for Health and water resources, Secretary to the Delta State Government, Senator before emerging as the Governor of Delta State.

The governor, who thanked organizers of the event said, “recall that last year I was here to receive the ‘Man of The Year Award, 2017’ and I am honoured again today, these are possible because we are in perfect relationship with our people back home.”

“I thank God for His blessings, though, the terrain was tough but, I am able to succeed with our people because of the experience we have garnered in the act of governance over the years; in partnership with all Deltans that are now, more united than ever, as a government, we will continue to ensure good governance and better days ahead for us all,” Governor Okowa said.

He asserted, “I am comfortable saying that we are achieving results which has earned us several awards, including this Governor Of The Year Award because of partnership, positive partnership that brings confidence and satisfaction to our people no matter where they may be and as an individual, I will continue to appreciate Deltans for the genuine partnership with my administration. “

Some of the award recipients were the Governor of Rivers State, Mr Nyesom Wike (Political Icon Of The Year, 2018), Governor Okezie Ikpeazu of Abia State (Governor Of The Year In Entrepreneurship, 2018), Enugu State Governor, Mr Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi (Grassroots Development Governor Of The Year, 2018), Aare Afe Babalola (Achiever Of The Year, 2018), Delta State Oil Producing Area Developmental Commission (DESOPADEC) (Outstanding State Agency Of The Year, 2018), Air Peace (Airline Of The Year, 2018), among numerous others.

Chairman of the occasion, Engr. Mansur Ahmed observed that the occasion was to honour “men and women who have distinguished themselves; for Nigeria to be great, we have to recognise, honour our great men and women.”

Download NAIJA NEWS app:
Download Naija News App for Android