Connect with us


PDP nominates Ibori as part of convention planning committee



Ibori Didn't Steal Any Money From Delta Coffers - Group

-Ibori gets nominated as part of the PDP convention planning committee.

-New comers and PDP returnees will not get any special privileges.

Former Governor of Delta state, Chief James Ibori, has been nominated into the national convention planning committee‎ for the non elective special convention of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Daily Times reports.

The PDP convention is scheduled to hold on Saturday, August 12 2017, in Abuja.

It was gathered that Ibori is to appear as number 41 in the main organizing committee list.

The former Delta State Governor who was in power between 1999 and 2007, was however absent at the inaugural meeting of the committee on Wednesday, August 9, at the party’s headquarters in Abuja.

On his part, Ibori’s media aide, Tony Eluemunor‎ said that there was nothing unusual for Ibori’s nomination to be in the committee.

Eluemunor said: ”It is a privilege given to every former PDP governor.‎ Ibori is a former governor, and he has not left PDP.

”So, there in nothing unusual in his name being included in the list. He was invited to the last NEC (National Executive Committee) meeting but he did not attend”.

He could not disclose whether Ibori will be at Eagle Square for the convention, saying that he was not to decide for him.

It was learnt that Ibori has not attended any political meeting since he returned to the country last year after he was released from detention.

Meanwhile, PDP chairman, Ahmed Makarfi has issued a warning to those who want to join the party or return to it that there will be no special privilege for them.

The PDP chairman made this statement on Thursday, August 3 when he received a delegation of PDP Rescue Group led by Wilberforce Juta in Abuja.

Passionate writer, content provider, inspired by the opportunity to learn new things.


Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *