Connect with us


Buhari’s Minister Backed To Succeed Adamu As APC National Chairman




Details Of What Adamu Told Protesting House Of Reps Speakership Aspirants About Zoning Emerges

Following the call for the resignation of the National Chairman of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Abdullahi Adamu, and National Secretary, Iyiola Omisore, by the National Vice Chairman of the party, North-west, Salihu Lukman, President Muhammadu Buhari’s Minister of Intergovernmental Affairs, Senator George Akume, has been tipped to replace Adamu.

Naija News reports that Lukman had called for an emergency national convention to address issues in the ruling party.

Following the emergence of Bola Tinubu as President-Elect, Lukman expressed the importance of the new National Chairman of the party to be a Christian.

He also emphasized that the National Chairman could be retained in North-Central.

According to Lukman, Adamu has done an excellent job to see the party emerge victorious in the 2023 election despite the challenges.

He added that it would be challenging to convince Adamu to resign as National Chairman to allow a Christian takeover.

Meanwhile, a source told The Guardian that the position by Lukman enjoys the full support of the Governor Ahmed Nasir el-Rufai of Kaduna state.

The source added that it might pave the way for the emergence of the former Benue State governor, Akume as the party’s next chairman.

Recall that Akume was tipped to clinch the chairmanship seat in the build-up to the party’s National Convention in 2022 before he was prevailed upon by the Presidency to step down for Adamu.

Akume had a good working relationship with the President-elect in their days in the defunct Action Congress of Nigeria (ACN), where he was re-elected in April 2011 on the party platform after dumping the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP).

Get New DJ Mixes

El-Rufai was among the arrowheads that ensured the zoning of the Presidency to the southern part of the country in the build-up to the presidential primary of the party last year.