Connect with us


2023: I’ve Delivered On My Promises To Oyo People – Makinde




Governor Seyi Makinde of Oyo State says he has delivered on his campaign promises to the residents of the Pacesetter state.

Makinde stated this on Thursday during the flag-off of his re-election campaign held at Mapo Hall in Ibadan, the Oyo State capital, Naija News reports.

The governor also appreciated the people of the state for the support given to his administration in the last four years, adding that he would continue to deliver projects that will further develop the state.

He said: “Under Omituntun 1.0 (Fresh Water), I promised you education sector, we collected LAUTECH back. Now, we have Emmanuel Alayande University of Education.

“Under Omituntun 1.0, I promised Oyo State economic prosperity. I said we will take our people from poverty to prosperity under accelerated development. We took our IGR from N1.8 billion in a month to N3.8 billion as at November 2021 under our administration.

“I assured the people that our infrastructure will integrate all the zones in our state – Ogbomoso to Iseyin; Akobo, Airport Road. I said our education levy will be scraped, has it been scraped or not?

“I promised to pay salary of workers and pensioners every month. I promised the people a safe and secured environment. I invented Amotekun Corps. Didn’t I do well.

“Under Omituntun 1.0, I promised a government that will put the people of Oyo state first and I have always made that decision. Now it is time to upgrade; it is time for Omituntun 2.0.”

Some of the dignitaries at the event include Governors Nyesom Wike (Rivers), Samuel Ortom (Benue), Okezie Ikpeazu (Abia) and Ifeanyi Ugwuayi (Enugu).

Get New DJ Mixes

Others are former Governors Ayodele Fayose (Ekiti); Olusegun Mimiko (Ondo); Oyo Deputy Governor Bayo Lawal; Makinde’s wife Tamunominini Makinde; PDP National Vice Chairman (South) Taofek Arapaja; Chief of Staff to Oyo Governor, Segun Ogunwuyi; Oyo PDP Chairman Dayo Ogungbenro; Oyo PDP Secetrary Wasiu Adeleke; Senator Hosea Agboola and members of the PDP State Working Committee as well as the PDP Women and Youth leaders in the state.