Connect with us

Nigeria News

Canada Imposes Travel Ban On Nigeria Over Omicron



Breaking: Canada Imposes Travel Ban On Nigeria Over Omicron

The Canadian government in the early hours of Wednesday imposed a travel ban on Nigeria following the two cases of the Omicron Variant detected in the country.

The North American country in the statement also banned nine other countries over the new COVID variant.

The affected countries are South Africa, Namibia, Lesotho, Botswana, Eswatini, Zimbabwe, Mozambique, Nigeria, Malawi and Egypt.

The Minister of Transport in the country, Omar Alghabra, said foreign nationals who had travelled to these listed countries in the last 14 days would be temporarily banned from entering Canada.

He further stated that Canadians and permanent residents who have been in the listed countries, even those who are fully vaccinated, must also be tested before entering Canada.

This is coming after the Nigeria Center for Disease and Control (NCDC) announced that two cases of Omicron variant had been detected in the country.

In a statement released and signed by its Director-General, Dr Ifedayo Adetifa, the NCDC said the two cases of the variant were discovered through genomic sequencing.

The centre added that the cases were linked to two passengers who entered Nigeria from South Africa last week.

Download NAIJA NEWS app:
Download Naija News App for Android