Connect with us


Euro 2020: Trent In, Lingard Out In As Southgate Names England Squad



Trent Alexander-Arnold, Reece James, Kieran Trippier and Kyle Walker have all been included in Gareth Southgate’s 26-man England squad for the upcoming European Championships.

Mason Greenwood, Ben Godfrey, Jesse Lingard, Aaron Ramsdale, James Ward-Prowse, Ollie Watkins, Ben White have all missed out on the final list having originally made the 33-man provisional squad named by Southgate last week.

Despite injury concerns for Jordan Henderson, Harry Maguire and Kalvin Phillips, the trio have all made the final squad.

The inclusion of four right-backs in the provisional 33-man squad last week had led to seven days of speculation regarding which player or players might miss out.

Southgate had highlighted the quartet’s versatility last week when stating “I see good footballers”, suggesting Alexander-Arnold could play in midfield, with James, Trippier and Walker capable of playing in various defensive roles.

As a result, all four players have made the final list which features 10 defenders and just five midfielders, including 17-year-old Jude Bellingham.

Bukayo Saka and Jack Grealish are among the eight forwards in the squad, with the latter set to wear the No.7 shirt at the tournament.

England’s 26-man squad for Euro 2020:

Goalkeepers: Dean Henderson (Manchester United), Sam Johnstone (West Brom), Jordan Pickford (Everton).

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Ben Chilwell (Chelsea), Conor Coady (Wolves), Reece James (Chelsea), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa), Luke Shaw (Manchester United), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Atletico Madrid), Kyle Walker (Manchester City).

Midfielders: Jude Bellingham (Borussia Dortmund), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Leeds), Declan Rice (West Ham).

Forwards: Dominic Calvert-Lewin (Everton), Phil Foden (Man City), Jack Grealish (Aston Villa), Harry Kane (Tottenham), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Bukayo Saka (Arsenal), Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund), Raheem Sterling (Man City).