Connect with us


Buhari Asks Senate To Confirm 8 New Supreme Court Justices (Full List)



Buhari Sacks NDE DG Argungu, Asks Keyamo To Appoint Replacement

President Muhammadu Buhari has written the Nigerian Senate seeking for the confirmation of eight justices as of the Court of Appeal as Justices of the Supreme Court.

Naija News reports that President Buhari’s letter asking for the confirmation on the eight new Supreme Court Justices was read by the President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, at plenary on Tuesday, September 29.

In the letter, the President said the appointment was based on the recommendations of the National Judicial Council.

The letter read, “Pursuant to section 231(2) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria (as amended), and upon the advice of the National Judicial Council, I hereby present for confirmation by the Senate, the appointment of the underlisted Eight (8) Justices of the Court of Appeal as Justices of the Supreme Court of Nigeria, according to their ranking of seniority at the Court of Appeal.”

The nominees according to the letter are, Lawal Garba, (North West), Helen Ogunwumiju (South West), Abdu Aboki (North West), and M M Saulawa (North West).
Others are, Adamu Jauro (North East), Samuel Oseji (Souty South), Tijani Abubakar (North East), and Emmanuel Agim (South-South).

Source: Naija News