Connect with us


Three New Deputy Vice-Chancellors Elected In UNIBEN



The Senate in the University of Benin (UNIBEN) on Tuesday has elected three new Deputy Vice-Chancellors after nominating the Vice-Chancellor, Prof. Lilian Salami.

The Public Relations Officer of the university Dr Benedicta Ehanire made this known in a statement made available to newsmen in Benin.

According to her, the Vice-Chancellor was nominated in accordance with the university’s miscellaneous provisions Act 2003, Section 4.

She said that one of the newly elected Deputy Vice-Chancellors is Prof. Adesuwa Osahon of the Department of Ophthalmology, who was elected Deputy Vice-Chancellor (designate) Administration.

While others include Prof. David Izekor from the Department of Forestry and Wild was elected Deputy Vice-Chancellor (designate) Academics and Prof. John Ogene from the Department of Fine and Applied Arts was elected Deputy Vice-Chancellor (designate) Ekehuan Campus.

She also said that the names of the newly elected Deputy Vice-Chancellors would be forwarded to Governing Council of the University for confirmation.

She said that the tenures of the present Deputy Vice-Chancellors would end on Feb. 29.