Connect with us

2023 Election

2023: Nine Governors Seeking Re-Election Win As Matawalle Crashes Out (List)




The governorship election was held across twenty-eight states of the country on Saturday, 18th of March, 2023.

However, Eight of the 36 states; Anambra, Bayelsa, Edo, Ekiti, Imo, Kogi, Osun, and Ondo have their governorship elections off-season due to litigations and court judgements.

In the 2023 governorship election, eleven state governors were seeking re-election, while seventeen outgoing governors would be handing over to new hands.

Out of the eleven governors seeking re-election, nine governors have been re-elected, while in Adamawa State, where the state Governor, Ahmadu Fintiri is leading has been declared inconclusive.

In Zamfara State, the state Governor, Bello Matawalle has lost his re-election bid to the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Dauda Lawal and would not be returning to the government house.

See the list of governors seeking re-election who have won in their states:

Oyo State (Seyi Makinde)

Ogun State (Dapo Abiodun)

Borno State (Babagana Zulum)

Yobe State (Mai Mala Buni)

Lagos State (Babajide Sanwo-Olu)

Kwara State (Abdulrahman Abdulrazaq)

Nasarawa State (Abdullahi Sule)

Bauchi State (Bala Mohammed)

Get New DJ Mixes

Gombe State (Inuwa Yahaya)