Connect with us


Breaking: Imo Assembly Speaker, 7 Lawmakers Dump PDP For APC



APC tackles PDP

APC Now Majority In Imo House Of Assembly

The Speaker of the Imo State House of Assembly, Dr. Collins Chiji has defected from the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) in the state.

He made this known on Tuesday during the plenary session in the House.

Naija News recalls nine lawmakers on Tuesday, January 21, 2019, also dumped the PDP for the APC shortly after the Supreme Court judgment which sacked Emeka Ihedioha of PDP as governor of the state and installed Hope Uzodinma in his place.

Chiji while announcing his defection, also announced the defection of seven other lawmakers from the PDP to the APC.

With this development, the APC has become the majority in the Imo State House of Assembly while the PDP is now the minority party.

A breakdown of the Imo State Assembly along party lines reveal APC now has 18 lawmakers while the PDP has 8 members.

The lawmakers that defected with the Speaker on Tuesday are Dominic Ezerioha (Olu West), Chigozie Nwaneri (Oru East), Kanayo Onyemaechi (Owerri West), Kennedy Ibeh (Obowo), Uche Ogbuagu (Ikeduru), Michael Njoku (Ihitte Uboma) and Eddy Obinna (Aboh Mbaise).

Passionate writer, content provider, inspired by the opportunity to learn new things.