Connect with us


El-Rufai Ask All Political Appointees To Resign, See Why




Governor Nasir El-Rufai has directed all political appointees to submit letters of resignation by 30th April 2019.

Naija News reports that the governor will exercise his constitutional prerogative to decide on re-appointments while giving the Kaduna State Ministry of Finance adequate time to compute severance payments and reconcile any liabilities.

El-Rufai said that each notice of resignation must be submitted along with a handover note, signed by the political appointee on behalf of the MDA or office to which he or she had been appointed.

The governor made this known in a statement issued by his Media Adviser, Samuel Aruwan, on Tuesday, ahead of his May 29 inauguration for a second term.

He said: “As he constitutes the team that will assist him in his second term, the governor said he expects the process to be enriched by the handover notes from the political appointees, and the report of the Transition Committee headed by the Deputy Governor-elect, Dr Hadiza Sabuwa Balarabe.

“The following appointees are expected to comply with the directive: All Commissioners in the State Executive Council, All Permanent Secretaries, Special Advisers, Directors-General, Executive Secretaries, Managing Directors, General Managers and other Heads of Agencies, Senior Special Assistants, Special Assistants and Technical Assistants to the Governor, other than the Kashim Ibrahim Fellows.

“Excluded from compliance with this directive are full-time Commissioners of certain State Executive bodies who retain their tenured appointments in the following agencies: i. Fiscal Responsibility Commission

  1. Civil Service Commission

iii. Judicial Service Commission

iiii. Assembly Service Commission

  1. The State Independent Electoral Commission (SIECOM)
  2. The Peace Commission

vii. Public Procurement Authority

viii. Water Regulatory Authority

“Due to recent adjustments in roles within the government, the occupants of and recent appointees into the following offices are also exempted from the directive to resign: a. Commissioner of Finance

  1. Principal Private Secretary
  2. Accountant-General
  3. Special Adviser, Intergovernmental Relations
  4. Managing Director, Kaduna Markets Development Company
  5. Managing Director, Kaduna Investment and Finance Company, and
  6. Any other political appointee sworn-in or appointed to their current role within the last six months.”

George Oshogwe Ogbolu is a Digital Media Strategist | Content Writer | Journalist | New Media Influencer | Proofreader and a Deputy Editor at Naija News.