Connect with us


Defection: APC Still Majority In The Senate – Senator Lawan



70% Of Codeine Are Consumed In Sambisa Forest - Lawan

Senate majority leader, Ahmed Lawan (File Photo)

The All Progressives Congress (APC) caucus in the Nigeria Senate has disclosed that  despite the defection of 14 of its members to the opposition Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) on Tuesday, it still accounts for the majority seats in the Senate.

Ahmed Lawan, the Senate Leader who spoke on behalf of of his colleagues insisted that the mass defection of their colleague in the house didn’t displace the APC as the majority party in the upper legislative chamber.

He stated that the APC still has 52 members, while the PDP has 50.

Part of the 52 members of the APC in the Senate house include Senator Joshua Dariye  who is presently serving a 14-year jail term.

The All Progressives Grand Alliance (APGA) has two, while the African Democratic Congress (ADC) has three; There are two vacant seats occasioned by the death of two senators from Bauchi and Katsina.

Lawan said the APC would win back the two vacant seats occupied by Senator Ali Wakili (Bauchi) and Mustapha Bukar (Katsina) until their death recently.

This, according to him, would raise the membership strength of the party to 54.

Joshua Oyenigbehin is an introvert who is passionate about Storytelling, writing and teaching. He sees his imagination as an unsearchable world, more magical than a fairyland. He has written a novel and working on another.