Connect with us


From APC To PDP: Meet Children Of Politicians Who Have Won Primaries [Full List]




As candidates begin to emerge for the 2023 general elections, some children are already making moves to carry on from where their parents stopped by grabbing elective positions.

Children following the footsteps of their parent in joining politics is not particularly new to Nigerians as there are many cases of such occurances.

The 2023 general election would not be any different as some offsprings of politicians have already grabbed tickets of either the All Progressives Congress (APC) or the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) ahead of the polls.

See children of politicians who have won primaries…

General Sani Abacha’s son: Muhammad Abacha

Alhaji Muhammad Abacha, son of former military leader Sani Abacha, had won the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) governorship ticket in Kano.

Abacha garnered 736 votes to defeat his closest rival, Jafar Sani-Bello, who scored 710 votes in the primary election on Wednesday, May 25, in Kano state.

Announcing the results, the Returning Officer, Hajiya Amina Garba declared Abacha as the winner of the primaries having scored 736 votes.

Sule Lamido’s son: Mustapha Sule Lamido

Mustapha Sule Lamido, son of former Governor of Jigawa State, Sule Lamido, has picked the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, gubernatorial ticket for the 2023 general election.

Announcing the result, chairman of the electoral committee sent by the PDP National Headquarters, Bar. Isah Ahmed, said Mustapha polled 829 votes to defeat former Minister of Power, Hon. Saleh Shehu Hadejia, who scored 0 votes.

He explained that a total of 832 votes were casted out of which three are invalid.

James Ibori’s daughter: Erhiatake Ibori-Suenu

Erhiatake Ibori-Suenu, daughter of former Governor of Delta State, James Ibori, polled 46 votes against her rival, Hon. Ben Igbakpa, who scored only 22 votes in the Peoples Democratic Party run-off primaries election for the Ethiope Federal Constituency of Delta.

The run-off election was held at the Sapele Township Stadium for the Okpe/Sapele/Uvwie Federal Constituency.

Abdullahi Umar Ganduje’s son: Umar Ganduje

Umar Ganduje, son of Governor Abdullahi Ganduje, emerged winner of the APC primary for the House of Representatives.

Ganduje’s son is seeking to represent Tofa, Rimin Gado, Dawakin Tofa Federal Constituency under the platform of the APC.

Ifeanyi Okowa’s daughter: Marilyn Okowa-Daramola

Barr Marilyn Okowa-Daramola, the daughter of Delta State Governor, Senator Ifeanyi Okowa emerged winner of the House of Assembly ticket of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP).

Marilyn was returned unopposed in the primary election for the Ika North East seat.

Nasir Elrufai’s son: Bello El-Rufai

Bello El-Rufai, one of Kaduna State Governor, Malam Nasir El-Rufai, has won the Kaduna North Local Government House of Representatives primary.

Abiola Ajimobi’s son: Idris Abiola-Ajimobi

Idris Abiola-Ajimobi, son of a former Oyo State governor, the late Abiola Ajimobi, also emerged winner of the All Progressives Congress (APC) primary election for Ibadan South-West II Constituency.

Ayo Fayose’s son: Joju Fayose

A son of former Ekiti State Governor, Ayo Fayose, Joju had emerged as one of the winners of the Peoples Democratic Party House of Representatives tickets for Ekiti State.

The former governor’s son won the ticket for Ekiti Central Federal Constituency one.

Adebayo Alao-Akala’s son: Olamijuwonlo Alao-Akala 

Olamijuwonlo Alao-Akala, son of the former governor of Oyo state Otunba Adebayo Alao Akala, has won the APC ticket for Ogbomoso North, South and Oriire Federal Constituency.

Olamijuwonlo, a former chairman of Ogbomoso North local government area, polled all the 150 votes to clinch the ticket of the APC.

close button