Connect with us


BREAKING: NJC Releases List Of Nominees For Supreme Court Appointments



Supreme Court sacks David Lyon

The National Judicial Council, NJC has released names of nominees for appointment as Justices of the Supreme Court.

The development is coming following a recommendation by the NJC for the appointment of 22 judges for the Supreme Court and various other courts in the country.

Names of the new nominees recommended for approval by President Muhammadu Buhari include Abdu Aboki, Mohammed Garba, Tijjani Abubakar and Mohammed Saulawa, Naija News understands. Giving an update on the development, the Director of Information of the National Judicial Council, Mr Soji Oye in a statement on Friday, August 14 confirmed that Justice Abubakar will represent the North-East Zone on the apex court’s bench, while Justices Garba, Aboki and Saulawa will as well represent North-West.

Naija News recalls that Justice Aboki and Justice Garba are part of the members of the last year’s presidential election petition court who headed the five-man court which heard the petition filed by the Peoples Democratic Party and its presidential candidate, Atiku Abubakar, challenging the victory of Buhari at the last year’s poll.

Oye noted that the “current 12 Justices of the Supreme Court includes the Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Tanko Muhammad, two Justices from North Central, one from the North-East, one from North-West, three from South-East, one from the South-South and three from the South-West.”