Connect with us

2019 Election

See Who INEC Declared As Governor-Elect In Taraba State



Darius Ishaku, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP)‘s a gubernatorial candidate has been re-elected governor of Taraba state.

This extends PDP dominance in the state to 20 years as the party has never lost a governorship election in the state since 1999.

Shehu Iya, the state returning officer and professor atModibo Adama University, Yola, declared the PDP candidate winner on Tuesday morning at the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) office in Jalingo.

According to Iya, the incumbent governor and PDP candidate polled a total of 520,433 votes, while Sani Danladi, the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate garnered 362,735 votes to his name.

Ishaku won 11 LGAs, including Takum, Zing, Yorro, Kai, Bali, Donga, Wukari, Bali, Gashaka, Kurmi and Ussa LGAs, while his prime challenger won Jalingo, Gassol, Ibbi and Karim Lami.

Hassan Mijinyawa, Ishaku’s chief press secretary, via a statement on Monday, said the government had imposed a dusk to dawn curfew on the state capital, Jalingo, without stating the reasons for the curfew.

The curfew, however, exempts staff of the electoral commission and key agents and observers.

“The curfew will run from 6 am to 6 pm daily, however, some INEC officials, key Agents of political parties and observers involved in the collation of the election results are exempted,” the statement read.

“Governor Ishiaku enjoined the people of the state to continue to be law-abiding as he urged security agencies to ensure strict compliance.”

Read More News.   Download Naija News App.   Send us enquiries and press releases.

is a prolific writer, broadcaster and teacher, who likes to try out new things' you can reach me via


!-- advertising GHyyJ9E_ZJ_pdm4colp8zWBpfS5xPR4n_QMWqOjxoVaU5kzaesy3K9eHGd9Pt-SfiCW2JPqCvE1ArfvYMbysEQ==-->