Connect with us


Kogi Guber: INEC Deploys Three National Commissioners, Seven RECs



INEC de-registers 74 political parties

Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, the Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission, has approved the deployment of three of the commission’s national commissioners and seven Resident Electoral Commissioners ahead of the governorship election in Kogi State.

The development was revealed by the Head, Voter Education and Publicity Department, Ahmed Biambo, in Lokoja office on Monday.

Biambo in his statement said the three national commissioners will include Mr Mohammed Haruna, Mr Solomon Soyebi and retired AVM Ahmed Mu’azu.

He revealed that the RECs are Malam Ibrahim Abdullahi, Prof. Riskuwa Sheu and Mr Emeka Ononamadu from Bauchi State, Kano State and the Enugu States respectively.

According to him, the three electoral commissioners had arrived in Lokoja earlier to join the state Resident Electoral Commissioner, Prof. James Apam, ahead of the November 16 governorship election.

Biambo stated that the four other RECs will arrive in Kogi State on November 9 to join their colleagues.

The four other RECs are Dr Goshe Yilwatda, (REC, Benue State), Mr Sam Olumeku (REC, Lagos State), Mr Obo Effanga, (REC, Rivers State) and Malam Umaru Ibrahim (REC, Gombe State).

He added that the RECs and National commissioners are deployed to Kogi State to strengthen staff on the ground to conduct a free, fair and credible election.

Biambo assured the people of the state that their vote would count during the election but urged them to be peaceful and avoid negative actions before, during and after the election.

is an Associate at Naija News. He is a news media enthusiast, he holds a degree in psychology and loves exploring and sharing about the enormous power that lies in the human mind. Email: [email protected], Instagram: adeniyidman