Connect with us

Nigeria News

Lawan, Sanwo-Olu, SGF, Others Set To Storm Egypt For 2019 Afcon




Nigerians React As Adamu Announces Lawan As APC Consensus Candidate

President Muhammadu Buhari has constituted the Federal Government delegation to the ongoing 2019 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) holding in Egypt.

Buhari selected Senate President Ahmed Lawan to led the delegation the competition.

Also on the delegation are the Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Boss Gida Mustapha, Speaker of the House of Representatives, Femi Gbajabiamila, Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu of Lagos and Governor Ifeanyi Okowa of Delta State.


Others are the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) Governor, Godwin Emefiele, President of the Nigeria Olympic Committee (NOC), Habu Gumel, and a Representative of the Presidency; Captain Hosa Okunbo.

Also, the Permanent Secretary in the Federal Ministry of Youth and Sports, Olusade Adesola, and Muhammad Gambo, the ministry’s Director of Facilities, are also members of the delegation.

A former Minister of Youth and Sports, Solomon Dalung, completes the 11-man list.


The delegation is expected to be in Egypt for the Super Eagles Round of 16 clashes in the 2019 Afcon.