Connect with us

2019 Election

Sanwo-Olu Takes Early Lead In Lagos Governorship Race




The candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Lagos State, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, has taken an impressive lead over 44 other candidates in the governorship election held on Saturday.

According to Punch, results of 15 local government areas have been announced by the respective local government collation officers.

In the 15 LGAs announced so far, APC is leading, while the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, Jimi Agbaje, polled the second highest votes in the respective LGAs.

The announcement of results is taking place at INEC head office, which is also the collation centre, located at Yaba, Lagos.

The results of the local government areas so far released are Lagos Island, Lagos Mainland, Epe, Ikeja, Ikorodu, Amuwo Odofin, Ibeju Lekki, Agege and Apapa.

Others are Somolu, Eti Osa, Oshodi/Isolo, Mushin, Kosofe and Surulere.

INEC Returning Officer in the state, Prof Eyitope Ogunmodede, who is also the Vice-Chancellor of Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile Ife, had at the beginning of the exercise promised to be fair to all.

George Oshogwe Ogbolu is a Digital Media Strategist | Content Writer | Journalist | New Media Influencer | Proofreader and Editor at Naija News.