Connect with us


Sanwo-Olu Receives March 18 Governorship Election Result From APC




The All Progressives Congress (APC) governorship candidate in the just concluded March 18 governorship election, Babajide Sanwo-Olu, has officially received the election result which confirmed his victory.

The incumbent Lagos state governor who became the state governor in 2019, ran a fierce race to return to the seat in 2023 alongside two major contenders – Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour of the Labour Party and Dr. Olajide Adediran of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP).

After the fierce contest on March 18, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) declared Sanwo-Olu the winner with 762,134 votes. The Labour Party governorship candidate came second with 312, 329 votes, while the PDP came third with 62, 449 votes.

About two days after INEC declared Sanwo-Olu winner of the governorship election, a delegation of the APC came to the Lagos State Government House, Marina, to officially present the election result to him.

The delegation was led by Senator Tokunbo Afikuyomi, Head of Lagos State APC Election Task Force for the Governorship and State House of Assembly Elections.

Another prominent name in the delegation was Dele Alake, Special Adviser on Media to President-Elect, Bola Ahmed Tinubu.

Get New DJ Mixes

Note that the Labour Party governorship candidate, Gbadebo Rhodes-Vivour, is challenging the outcome of the election which means that the outcome might be challenged at the election tribunal in the coming days.