Connect with us

2023 Election

Gov’ship Polls: See How APC, PDP, NNPP Shared The 24 States Declared So Far




The results from the governorship and state assembly election seem to be rounding up gradually as 24 out of the 28 states that partook in the polls have been declared by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC).

Naija News gathered that out of the 24 declared states, the All Progressives Congress (APC) won in 15 states, the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) bagged eight states and the New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP) won in one state.

The further breakdown indicates that out of the APC’ 15 state wins, seven re-elections bids were won for Babajide Sanwo-Olu (Lagos), Dapo Abiodun (Ogun), AbdulRahman AbdulRazaq (Kwara), Inuwa Yahaya (Gombe), Mai Mala Muni (Yobe), Abdullahi Sule (Nasarawa), Babagana Zulum (Borno).

The APC also had eight new governors- elects which include Umar Namadi (Jigawa), Ahmed Aliyu Sokoto (Sokoto), Dikko Radda (Katsina), Uba Sani (Kaduna), Bassey Otu (Cross River), Mohammed Bago (Niger), Hyacinth Alia (Benue), and Francis Nwifuru (Ebonyi).

For the PDP, two re-election bids which are Seyi Makinde (Oyo) and Bala Mohammed (Bauchi) have been won so far and six first-term now governors-elect have been secured and they are Umo Eno (Akwa Ibom), Siminialayi Fubara (Rivers), Kefas Agbu (Taraba), Caleb Mutfwang (Plateau), and Sheriff Oborevwori (Delta).

For the NNPP, it was a historic win in Kano State for the party and its candidate, Abba Kabir to have secured its first governorship win in the state in more than 20 years.

Get New DJ Mixes

However, it was learnt that elections in Kebbi and Adamawa states have been declared inconclusive, while collation in Abia and Enugu states have been suspended to review some results in certain parts of the states.