Connect with us


2022 FIFA Best Award: Messi Wins Men’s Best Player, See other winners




Paris Saint Germain and Argentine football icon, Lionel Messi have been named 2022 The Best FIFA men’s player of the year.

The record seven-time Ballon d’Or winner first won The Best FIFA award in 2019. Since then, he has finished third once, and second once.

In the 2022 edition of the FIFA award which was held in Paris on Saturday night, February 27, 2023, Messi had to compete with the current Ballon d’Or winner, Karim Benzema, and his teammate at PSG, Kylian Mbappe.

Naija News recalls that Mbappe and Messi battled it out in the 2022 World Cup final in Qatar on December 18 which was decided by penalties. Even though Mbappe scored a hat-trick and his spot-kick during the penalty shootout, Messi’s Argentina won via penalties.

Hence, the fact that Messi led Argentina to win the 2022 FIFA World Cup, it was expected that he would be named The Best FIFA men’s player of 2022.

2022 The Best FIFA Award: Messi Wins Men's Best Player, See other winners

File photo of Lionel Messi posing with the Best FIFA men’s player award.

At the World Cup, Messi scored seven goals, a goal behind Mbappe. The 35-year-old Argentine football icon won the player of the tournament which goes to show his importance to the winning team.

Aside from his performance in international football, Messi also played a huge part in helping PSG win the French Ligue 1 in the year under review (2022).

Other winners At 2022 The Best FIFA Award:

1. Alexia Putellas wins the best women’s player award.

2. Emiliano Martínez wins best men’s goalkeeper.

3. Marcin Oleksy of Poland wins the Puskás Award for best goal.

4. Mary Earps wins Best Fifa Women’s Goalkeeper.

5. Lionel Scaloni wins Best Fifa Men’s Coach.

6. Sarina Wiegman wins the Best Fifa Women’s Coach award!

7. Luka Lochoshvili wins the Fair Play Award!

“The Georgian, now at Cremonese, takes it. When he was at Wolfsberger last season, he intervened to help Georg Teigl of Austria Wien, who had fallen unconscious.”

Get New DJ Mixes

8. Argentina fans win the Fifa fan award.