Connect with us

Nigeria News

#NigeriaDecides: Live Updates Of The 2023 Presidential Election




Nigerians, today, troop out en masse to vote a successor to President Muhammadu Buhari who would pilot the affairs of the country for the next four years.

Naija News reports that major contenders at the polls today include: Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Atiku Abubakar; All Progressives Congress (APC), Bola Tinubu; Labour Party, Peter Obi (LP); New Nigeria Peoples Party (NNPP), Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso; amongst others.

The presidential election kick-starts 8 am today and runs through till 2 pm, with security agents placing a restriction on human and vehicular movement across the country.

Stick with Naija News as we bring you the latest updates from the polls held across Nigeria…


Voting has ended across Nigeria

The Ebonyi State Governor, David Umahi has cast his vote in the ongoing presidential and national assembly elections. Naija News reports the Governor cast his vote on Saturday at the Umaga ward 10, Onunwofo, Ụbụrụ, Ohaozara local government area of Ebonyi.


Fake officials of the Department of State Service (DSS) have been caught in a polling unit in Ila Orangun, Osun state. In a video making the rounds on social media two fake DSS officials were caught monitoring the election.

A video making the rounds on social media had shown an unidentified individual telling electorates in a polling unit to vote for the All Progressives Congress (APC) or go home. The man who seemed quite agitated warned voters that the state is for APC and he would deal with anyone who voted otherwise.


The Governor of Benue State, Samuel Ortom has voted for the presidential candidate of the Labour Party, Peter Obi.

After thumb printing at his polling unit in Tse-Ortom, Mzondu ward, Guma LGA of the state on Saturday, the governor displayed his ballot paper.

The Vice presidential candidate of the Labour Party (LP), Yusuf Datti Baba Ahmed has cast his vote in the ongoing presidential and national assembly elections. Naija News reports Datti cast his vote around 10.40am at polling unit 021 Kofar gidan Iro kaya tudun wada Zaria in Kaduna State.

2023: Labour Party Vice Presidential Candidate, Datti Baba-Ahmed Votes

Datti Baba-Ahmed Votes

Governor Nyesom Wike of Rivers State has angrily left his Polling Unit 8, Ward nine, Rumueprikon, Obio-Akpor after he could not be validated by the Bio-modal Voter Accreditation System (BIVAS). Naija News reports that the Rivers State Governor had waited for 25 minutes before leaving his polling unit.

The Vice President of Nigeria, Yemi Osinbajo has cast his vote in his hometown, Ikenne in Ogun state. Osinbajo arrived at his polling unit on Saturday around 10 am.

The Kano State Governor, Abdullahi Umar Ganduje has cast his vote in Saturday’s presidential and national assembly election. Naija News reports Ganduje voted at his Polling Unit in Ganduje village, Dawakin Tofa LGA of Kano state.

2023 Presidency: Ganduje Casts His Vote In Kano

Abdullahi Ganduje

President Muhammadu Buhari has cast in his vote in the ongoing presidential and national assembly elections. Naija News gathered that President cast his vote at Sarkin Yara A Kofar Baru 01/003 polling unit. The President arrived at his polling unit alongside his wife, Aisha Buhari and other entourage around 10 am.

The lawmaker representing Lagos Central in the Senate, Oluremi Tinubu, has arrived her polling unit to vote in the presidential election.

Voting has commenced at the polling unit where President Muhammadu Buhari and his household will cast their votes. Naija News gathered that President Buhari will cast his vote at Sarkin Yara A Kofar Baru 01/003 polling unit.

9:05am: I’m not looking for a job in any other candidate’s cabinet – Peter Obi declares as he exudes confidence on election day, says he is coasting to victory.

8:37am: Election materials arrive Tarauni local government in Kano State.

8:30 am: INEC officials yet to arrive at the polling unit of the presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress, APC, Bola Tinubu as

at 08:30 am when accreditation and voting are supposed to commence.

07:13: Presiding officers are on ground and Voters are already checking their Names in Polling Unit 40, Ward 3, Osogbo LGA, Osun State.

6:55 am: Voters have started arriving at Polling Unit 123 Sunnyvale Estate, Abuja Municipal Area Council of the nation’s capital.

Electoral officers getting set

The presidential candidates are Christopher Imumolen, Accord Party, Hamza Al-Mustapha, Action Alliance, Omoyele Sowore, African Action Congress, Dumebi Kachikwu, African Democratic Congress, and Yabani Sani, Action Democratic Party.

Others are Bola Tinubu, All Progressives Congress, Peter Umeadi, All Progressives Grand Allaince, Princess Chichi Ojei, Allied Peoples Movement, and Charles Nnadi, Action Peoples Party, Sunday Adenuga, Boot Party Peter Obi, Labour Party, Rabi’u Kwankwaso, New Nigerian Peoples Party, Felix Osakwe, National Rescue Movement, Atiku Abubakar, Peoples Democratic Party, Kola Abiola, Peoples Redemption Party, Adebayo Adewole, Social Democratic Party, Ado Ibrahim Abdulmalik, Young Progressives Party and Dan Nwanyanwu, Zenith Labour Party.

close button