Connect with us

Nigeria News

Supreme Court: List Of SANs Present As Court Rules On New Naira Policy




[JUST IN] Naira Policy: Supreme Court Takes Break, Says It Won't Be A Scapegoat

Top legal practitioners, codenamed the Senior Advocate of Nigeria (SAN), appeared before the Supreme Court on Wednesday (today) for the hearing of the suit against the Federal Government and the Central Bank of Nigeria (CBN) on new naira policy.

Naija News reports that the state governments of Kaduna, Kogi, and Zamfara had, on February 3rd, dragged the Nigerian government and CBN to court in lamentation of the current hardship in the country following the deadline on the validity of old N1000, N500 and N200 notes as declared by the apex bank.

At the hearing of the suit today, SANs present include S.T. Ologun-Orisa (for Katsina State Government); Tanko Asha (for Cross River State Government); Tunde Babalola (for Ogun State) to join as co-plaintiff, as well as O.O. Olowolafe (for Ekiti State) as the party is seeking to be joined and Charles Titiloye (SAN) Ondo State Attorney General.

Representing the Kaduna State government are Moyosore Onigbanjo (SAN) and Abdulhakeem Mustapha. Also present is the Attorney General of Lagos State, and Ahmed Raji (SAN), who announced appearances for Lagos.

Also, Kenneth Mozia, Emeka Etiaba, and Echezona Etiaba are all SANs for the Edo State Government. Damian Dodo (SAN) also attended the hearing for Bayelsa State as the party seeking to be joined in the matter.

Get New DJ Mixes

Standing in for the Federal Government as SANs are Kanu Agabi and Mahmud Magaji.

close button