Connect with us


Copa del Rey Fixtures: 13 Clubs Qualify For Round Of 16 – [Full List]




Copa del Rey Fixtures: 13 Clubs Qualify To Round Of 16 - [Full List]

After Wednesday, January 4, matchday results, thirteen clubs qualified for the Copa del Rey round of 16.

The Copa del Rey round of 32 fixtures ended last night in favour of the likes of Barcelona, Real Madrid, Villarreal, Levante, Atletico Madrid and others.

Naija News reports that Copa de Rey is an annual knockout football competition in Spain. Yesterday, Barcelona had an intriguing game against Intercity at Estadio José Rico Pérez.

The match, however, ended in favour of the Catalans, thanks to goals from Ronald Araujo, Ousmane Dembele, Raphinha and Ansu Fati ensured Barcelona won 4-3.

Also, Real Sociedad defeated Logroñés 1-0, Sevilla thrashed Linares Deportivo 5-0, Mollorca won 2-0 against Pontevedra, Atlético Madrid beat Oviedo 2-0 and Alavés defeated Valladolid 1-0 to all book their place in the Copa del Rey round of 16 on Wednesday night.

Other teams that have made it to the last 16 are Real Madrid, Espanyol, Valencia, Villarreal, Levante, AD Ceuta and Sporting Gijon.

The remaining round of 32 fixtures will take place today, with Athletic Club taking on Eldense, among other fixtures, Naija News reports.

United Cup: United States Knock Out Great Britain

Meanwhile, the United States had grabbed a commanding 3-1 lead in their City Final in Sydney, eliminating Great Britain from the inaugural United Cup.

Frances Tiafoe defeated British No. 2 Dan Evans 3-6 7-5 6-3 to advance the US to the semifinals of the United Cup.

After Katie Swan of the Great Britain team had lost to Madison Keys 2-6 6-3 6-4 earlier, Cameron Norrie defeated Taylor Fritz 6-4 5-7 6-4.

The third-ranked Jessica Pegula defeated Harriet Dart 6-2, 6-0.

Despite losing, Dart and Evans will compete together in the mixed doubles match at the Ken Rosewall Arena with Pegula and Fritz.

The Sydney City Final is one of three City Finals taking place across Australia, which acts as a play-off for the semi-finals.

Get New DJ Mixes

The winners in Sydney, Perth, and Brisbane will progress, as will the runners-up with the best record – but this will not be Great Britain.