Connect with us

Nigeria News

Benzema, Mane, Putellas, Lewandowski, Others Emerge Winners At 2022 Ballon d’Or Awards [Full List]


Blistering Real Madrid forward, Karim Benzema on Monday night expectedly emerged winner of the 2022 Ballon d’Or award for the best male footballer.

Naija News reports that the event was held in Paris, France.

France striker Karim Benzema, who scored 44 goals in 46 games for his club Real Madrid last term with 15 coming in the Champions League, beat the likes of Sadio Mane (2nd), Kelvin De Bruyne (3rd) and Robert Lewandowski (4th) to the prestigious award.

Africa’s own Sadio Mane received France Football’s first ever Socrates Award, in recognition of his charity work in his native Senegal.

Nigeria’s first and only representative, Asisat Oshoala finished 16th in the women’s Ballon d’Or best player list.

Lewandowski walked home with the award for last season’s top goalscorer, renamed the Gerd Mueller Trophy, for the second straight year.

Spain’s Alexia Putellas won the women’s Ballon d’Or for the second year running on Monday, while Arsenal striker Beth Mead was second, with Chelsea forward Sam Kerr in third.

Gavi beat the likes of Arsenal’s Bukayo Saka, Madrid’s Camaviga, Dortmund’s Jude Bellingham and others to the Kopa trophy given to the best male Under-21.

Full List

Ballon d’Or winner: Karim Benzema

Women’s Ballon d’Or winner: Alexia Putellas

Yashin trophy: Thibaut Courtois

Kopa trophy: Gavi

Gerd Muller Trophy: Robert Lewandowski

Club of the year: Manchester City

Get New DJ Mixes

Socrates Award: Sadio Mane

close button