Connect with us

Nigeria News

Identities Of Owo Church Attackers Revealed [Full List]




Identities Of Owo Church Attackers Revealed [Full List]

The identities of five of the attackers of St Francis Catholic Church in Owo, Ondo State have been revealed.

Naija News earlier reported that the Defence Headquarters had said the Nigerian military arrested the killers of 40 worshippers at the Catholic Church on June 5.

Speaking during a media parley at the Defence Headquarters, Abuja on Tuesday, Chief of Defence Staff, General Lucky Irabor, said some exhibits were recovered from the suspects.

Irabor disclosed that the attackers were arrested by the military in collaboration with Department of State Security (DSS) and the Nigeria Police Force.


The Defence Chief stated that the search for more of the terrorists who are on the run is ongoing, adding that the suspects would soon be paraded after investigation is done.

Irabor listed the five names of the suspects arrested as follows

Momoh Ojo Abubakar


Aliyu Yusuf Itokpka

Auwal Ishaq Onimisi

Idris Ojo Idris


Abdulmalik Omeiza (one of the masterminds of the attack).

Speaking further, Irabor said the essence of the media parley was to solicit understanding and support from the media in the fight against insecurity.

He, however, called for greater cooperation between the military and the media to find solutions to the security challenges and disallow enemies from stoking fears in the minds of the public.

The Defence chief also urged Nigerians and political leaders to understand the distinction between military operations and politics, adding that the military remained undaunted in ensuring a safe and secure nation.

Ige Olugbenga is a fine-grained journalist. He loves the smell of a good lead and has a penchant for finding out something nobody else knows.

close button